Chamber Music

Chamber Music Works for Violin Works for Viola Works for Violoncello
Works for Flute Works for Alto Saxophone Works for Trumpet  

Chamber Music

Fantasia Mexicana for Two Violins (1947)



Piece for String Quartet (1947)

Not found



Quintet for Piano and Strings (1949)

Single movement



Overture to a Shakespearean Tragedy Transcribed for Piano and String Quartet (March 1952)



Overture to a Shakespaerean Tragedy Transcribed for Flute, Clarinet, Violin, Cello, Trumpet, and Piano (April 28, 1952)



First String Quartet (July 16-August 6, 1952)

I. Largo; Allegro animato

II. Adagio III. Largo; Allegro con spirito
13 min., 40 sec.
Award: Second prize, Young Composers' Contest sponsored by the National Federation of Music Clubs, 1952.


First String Quartet (1952-53)

I. Largo/Allegro animato

II. Adagio III. Allegro con spirito IV. Fuga: Largo e mesto
17.5 min
Prize (Cortés later added three movements to form this quartet) 1952-53, Yale University, best composition for strings written by a student.
MS: American Composers Alliance Library, BMI, NY


Flamenquerias: Divertimento for Woodwind Trio (January- March 1953)

I. Bulerias

II. Malaguena III. Zambra IV. Peteneras V. Alegrias
ca. 10 min.
Inst.: fl, cl, bn
Awarad: 6th prize, 1953 Broadcast Music Inc. Young Composers Awards.


Divertimento for Woodwind Trio [rev.] (March 1957)

I. Allegro moderato

II. Largamente (La Malguena) III. Giocoso IV. Liberamente, con tristezza (La Peternera) V. Vivace
Inst.: fl, cl, bn
New York: Peer International Corporation, 1960


Quintet for Piano and Strings (October-November 1953)

I. Allegro moderato

II. Scherzando Interlude (Largo e mesto) III. Adagio
ca. 19 min.


Canto I (Night Music) for 16, rev. (March0July 1956)

Single movement for a mixed chamber ensemble
ca. 12 min.
Inst.: fl, eh, bs cl, 3 trb, perc, hrp, vn, 6 vc and soprano
MS: American Composers Alliance Library, Broadcast Music Inc., New York, NY


Introduction and Dirge for Brass and Percussion (January-March 1955)

6 min., 5 sec.

Inst.: 4 tpt, 4 hn, 3 trb, timp, 2 perc


Chamber Concerto No. I for Violoncello Solo and 12 Wind Instruments (February 1957-January 1958)

Single movement

ca. 12 min.
Inst.: picc, fl, ob, eh, picc cl, cl, bs cl, bn, 2 hn, tpt, trb, and solo vc
Award: First Prize, BMI Student Composers Radio Awards, 1959.


Chamber Concerto for Cello Solo and 12 Winds [rev.] (1978)

Single movement

Instr.: 2 fl, 2 ob, 2 cl, bs cl, bsn, 2 hn, tpt, trb, and solo vc


A Nocturnall Upon S. Lucies Day for String Quartet (December 1958)

Single movement



Nocturne (Tis the Year's Midnight) (February-March 1975)

Inspired by "Nocturnall Upon S. Lucies Day" by John Donne



Trio in One Movement, Final Version (1965)

Single movement

ca 9.5 min.
Inst.: vn, vc, and pno


Chamber Piece for Nine Players (Spring 1963)

Single movement

Inst.: cl, a sx, bs cl, tpt, perc, pno, vn, va, vc


String Quartet (Silvermine Version) (April 19, 1962)

Single movement



Duo for Flute and Oboe (December 1966-March 22, 1967)

I. Fantasy

II. Invention III. Elegy IV. Recitative V. Finale
ca. 10.5 min
Flute (a fl) and oboe (eh)
Brwn Mawr, PA., Elkan-Vogel, INc., 1973 (reproduction of composer's ms)


The Brass Ring (August 20, 1967)

6 min.

Inst.: 2 tpts, 2 trb, bs trb


The Brass Ring [rev.] (1967)

6 min.

Inst.: 2 tpts, hn, 2 trb


Three Movements for Five Winds (July 13, 1967-February 4, 1968)

ca. 9.5-10 min.

Inst.: fl, ob, cl, hn, and bn
Bryn Mawr, PA: Elkan-Vogel, Inc., 1975


Variations on a Theme by Halsey Stevens (November 9, 1968)

Theme from Symphonic Dances, 2nd movement by Halsey Stevens and 7 variations by various composers

Inst.: cl, vc, and pno


Charenton Variations for 11 Instruments (1978)

I. Justine and the Marquis de Sade (Theme)

II. Doctor Laforet and his Patients (var. 1-3)  
III. Tortured Ones (Var. 4-5) IV. Ghosts of the Asylum (Var. 6) V. Visions of the Marquis de Sade (Finale)  
Inst.: fl, ob, cl, bn, hn, tpt, 2 vn, va, vc, and cb


Double Fugue from Charenton Variations

Incomplete, only 23 measures

Inst.: cl w/ stgs


Capriccio for Woodwind Quartet (April 5-June 14, 1971)

Inst.: fl, ob, cl, bn



Fugue No. IV from Well Tempered Clavier, Vol. I by J. S. Bach (march 17, 1972)

Inst.: fl, cl, tpt, and 2 vc



Machaut: Ma Chere Dame (November 30, 1973)

Chanson transcription for flute, clarinet, and violin



Homage to Jackson Pollock (December 30, 1976)

inst.: fl, cl, hn, vn, and vc



String Quartet (June 5, 1977)

I. Lento: Allegro moderato

II. Allegro vivace III. Andante moderato IV. Allegro molto  


Little Suite, Chamber Version (September 12, 1979)

I. Overture

II. Pastorale III. Burlesque IV. Minuet V. Finale
Inst., fl, ob, bn, 2 vn, cb, and harpsch (also cl, va, vc)


Trio for Clarinet, Cello, and Piano (1981)

I. Allegro con spirito

II. Lento III. Vivace
ca. 24 min., 40 sec.


Concertino (1920) by Igor Stravinsky (April 24, 1982)

Inst.: fl, ob, cl, hrpsch, vn, va, vc



Second String Quartet (May 1-September 2, 1983)

Four movements

15 min.


O Alter Duft by Arnold Schoenberg, op. 21

Inst.: fl, cl, va, vc, and pno



Dido's Lament by Purcell

Passacaglia for string quartet



Works for Violin

Sonata for Violin and Piano (March-April 1956)

Single movement

Award: First Alumni Award from the University of Southern California, 1955.


Elegy for Solo Violin (October 16, 1970-March 16, 1971)

Philadelphia, PA.: Elkan-Vogel Co., Inc., 1960


Sonata for Violin and Piano (1971-1972)

I. Allegro molto

II. Adagio III. Presto misterioso IV. Allegro risoluto
ca. 14 min.


Suite for Violin and Piano (November-December 1980)

I. Lento

II. Allegro moderato III. Andante IV. Adagio V. Vivace


Works for Viola

Homage to Jackson Pollock for Viola Alone (January 4-March 29, 1968)



Works for Violoncello

Three Lyric Pieces for Violoncello and Pianoforte (August 1958)

I. Andante amoroso

II. Allegro III. Molto lento; fantastico

9.5-10 min.

Sward: First Prize, Young Composers Contest, National Federatinof Music Clubs, 1956.


Cello Sonata (1976-March 16, 1977)

I. Andante moderato

II. Allegro molto III. Largo; sostenuto IV. Allegro

ca. 11 min.



Gavotte for Cello and Piano by W. A. Mozart

Dance movement

Keyboard revision by Ramiro Cortés; cello editing by D. B. Freed



Works for Flute

Elegy for Flute and Piano [rev.] (March 1957)

New York: Peer International Corporation, 1959


Works for Alto Saxophone

Five Studies for Alto Sax (August 28, 1968)



Works for Trumpet

Trumpet Sonata [rev.] (1980)

1. Allegro risoluto

II. Largo III. Lento IV. Allegro marziale